Home Community Schools Worksite Healthcare Community Organizations Wellness Toolkit Contact


The Community Health Action and Response Team (CHART) are the local representatives of the ACHIEVE Initiative.



All board members bring evidence-based knowledge, work toward behavior change, and are focused on a shared vision and mission of healthy living in our community. The contributions of this group includes: high-level involvement, frontline support staff time, relationships, marketing resources, and specialized expertise from the academic, healthcare, research, low-income population, and community wellness arenas.


Jason Bletzinger

Assistant Superintendent, Richland-Bean Blossom Community School Corporation


Penny Caudill

Administrator, Monroe County Health Department


Carol Gardiner

Title I/Grant Coordinator, Monroe County Community School Corporation


Maria Heslin

Owner, Independent George, LLC


Francie Hurst

Vice President of Global Wellness, Cook Medical


Barry Lessow

Executive Director, United Way of Monroe County


Paula McDevitt

Recreation Services Director, City of Bloomington Parks & Recreation


Nancy Richman

Executive Director, Volunteers In Medicine


Catherine Sherwood-Laughlin

Clinical Associate Professor, Indiana University


Elizabeth Thompson

ENT, OB/GYN and Surgery Administrator, IU Health Bloomington


Debra Vance

Executive Director of Diversity and Outreach Programs, Ivy Tech


Carol Weiss Kennedy

Director of Community Health, Indiana University Health Bloomington


Bob Zaltsberg

Editor, The Herald Times



ACHIEVE is a group of leaders across five sectors: Schools, Worksites, Organizations, Healthcare, and Community-at-Large. It is our mission to inspire and promote policies, practices, and collaborations to make the healthy choice the easy choice.


©2011 ACHIEVE Bloomington / Monroe County All Rights Reserved. Home | Contact